KM Tourism Development Authority (TDA) Board

About the Board:

The Kings Mountain Tourism Authority collects a portion of the City's occupancy tax and redistributes the monies as financial grants to non-profit organizations to promote travel and tourism in Kings Mountain.  The Authority has eight members, three representing local hoteliers and five positions that are appointed by the mayor.



Meetings are held quarterly (March, June, September & December) on the next to last Tuesday at 3:00pm in the City Hall Council Chambers.

City Hall

101 West Gold Street

Kings Mountain NC 28086

Agenda & Minutes:

Click here to view the agenda and minutes for the Tourism Development Authority Board


Members serve a 3-year term.

Member Name Position Term Expires
Mike Butler Chairman 6/30/2023 (2nd term)
Rick Moore Vice-Chair 6/30/2023 (4th term)
Brenda Lovelace Member 6/30/2024 (2nd term)
Chandra Smith Member 6/30/2024 (1st term)
Al Patel Member 6/30/2024 (2nd term)
Sharon Horne Secretary 6/30/2023 (2nd term)
Chris Johnson Member 6/30/2023 (1st term)
Chuck Kilroy Member 6/30/2024 (1st term)
Ellis Noell Director